Washington College Presents Annual Athletic Awards

Washington College Presents Annual Athletic Awards

CHESTERTOWN, MD - The Washington College Athletics Department held its annual athletic awards ceremony tonight, honoring the top student-athletes for the 2010-11 academic year.  Team Most Valuable Players and Most Improved Players were named, and several special departmental awards were presented as well. A list of the awards follows.

Senior Athletic Award: Given annually to the male student and the female student who, in the opinion of the department, achieved the most in athletics at Washington College.
Rachel Glasser, SR, Women's Swimming (Silver Spring, MD/Springbrook)
Adam Cranford, SR, Men's Tennis (Bel Air, MD/John Carroll)

The Sho'men Club Award: Given annually to the senior male student and the senior female student who, in the opinion of the department, by cooperation, loyalty, sportsmanship, spirit, and industry, contributed the most to the development of athletics at Washington College.
Dylan Bernstein, SR, Men's Basketball (Laytonsville, MD/Gaithersburg)
Katelyn Malchester, SR, Women's Soccer (Millersville, MD/Old Mill) 

The Eldridge Eliason Award: The senior male student and female student who, with scholastic standing in the upper half of the class, has accomplished the most in the field of athletics.
Sarah Cannon, SR, Women's Lacrosse (Baltimore, MD/Notre Dame Prep)
Matt Violette, SR, Men's Swimming (Westbrook, ME/Westbrook)

The Thomas Reeder Spedden Medal: Presented to a male and female student for academic standing and achievement in athletics.
Kevin Breslin, JR, Men's Basketball (Hagerstown, MD/St. Maria Goretti)
Leigh Carbutt, JR, Softball (Collegeville, PA/Perkiomen Valley)
Brittany Palasik, JR, Field Hockey (Severna Park, MD/Archbishop Spalding) 

The Elizabeth "Bo" Blanchard Memorial Sportsmanship Award: The junior female and male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of enthusiasm, dedication, and sportsmanship characteristic of "Bo."
Emily Broomell, JR, Field Hockey (East Petersburg, PA/Lancaster Christian)
Meghan Tait, JR, Women's Basketball (Oxford, PA/Oxford Area)
John Rolewicz, JR, Baseball (Bear, DE/Salesianum) 

The Doris T. Bell '50 Award: The senior female with the highest cumulative average who has won a varsity letter during the year.
Becca Nicely, SR, Softball & Women's Soccer (Baltimore, MD/Institute of Notre Dame)

The Alfred Reddish Award: The senior male with the highest cumulative average who has won a varsity letter during the year.
Michael Zaborskiy, SR, Men's Rowing (Novosibirsk City, Russia/American School of Bangkok [Thailand])

MVP: Brittany Palasik, JR, Defender (Severna Park, MD/Archbishop Spalding)
MIP: Hilary Manion, SO, Midfielder (Trappe, PA/Archbishop Carroll)

MVP: Tori Ripple, JR, Goalkeeper (Baltimore, MD/John Carroll)
MIP: Katie Bradley, SO, Forward (Havre de Grace, MD/Fallston)

MVP: Chris Phipps, JR, Goalkeeper (Newark, DE/St. Mark's)
MIP: Robert Gavora, SO, Defender (Falls Church, VA/Flint Hill School)

MVP: Lauren White, FR, Setter (Huntingtown, MD/Huntingtown)
MIP: Maria Whitman, SR, (Galesville, MD/Southern)

MVP: Meghan Tait, JR, Guard (Oxford, PA/Oxford Area)
MIP: Liz Warkala, FR, Forward (New York, NY/Marymount School of New York)

MVP: Kevin Breslin, JR, Guard (Hagerstown, MD/St. Maria Goretti)
MIP: Chris Soper, SO, Forward (Poolesville, MD/Poolesville)

MVP: Rachel Glasser, SR (Silver Spring, MD/Springbrook)
MIP: Jenna Moore, JR (Catonsville, MD/Mount de Sales Academy)

MVP: Matt Violette, SR (Westbrook, ME/Westbrook)
MIP: Spencer Van Cise, SO (Temple City, CA/Temple City)

MVPs: Ryan Normoyle, JR, Shortstop (Mt. Laurel, NJ/Lenape),
John Rolewicz, JR, Catcher (Bear, DE/Salesianum)
MIP: Dwight Wilcox, JR, Catcher (Annapolis, MD/St. Mary's)

MVP: Rachel Bartee, JR, Midfielder (Mount Airy, MD/South Carroll)
MIP: Sydney Slavin, FR, Defender (Timonium, MD/Dulaney)

MVP: Peter Stewart, JR, Goalkeeper (Annapolis, MD/St. Mary's)
MIP: Stephen Pappas, SO, Defenseman (Ocean City, MD/Worcester Prep)

MVP: Sarah Strickland, SR (Potomac, MD/Holton-Arms)
MIP: Lauren Halla, SO (Haddonfield, NJ/Haddonfield Memorial)

MVP: Reno Smith, SR (Ocean City, MD/Worcester Prep)
MIP: Miqdad Annab, JR (Mechanicsburg, PA/Cumberland Valley)

MVP: Matt Lawler, SO, Crew (Alexandria, VA/Christchurch School)
MIP: Sam Fitzgerald, FR, Skipper (Fairfield, CT/Greens Farms Academy)

MVPs: Kylie Nottingham, FR, Catcher (Ocean City, MD/Stephen Decatur),
Lauren Dockrill, FR, First Base (San Diego, CA/Cathedral Catholic)
MIP: Brittany Walter, SO, Pitcher/Outfielder (Forest Hill, MD/C. Milton Wright)

MVPs: Amanda Bercovici, FR (Hackensack, NJ/Bergen Tech),
Jordan Finnegan, JR (Wilmington, DE/Archmere Academy),
Brittany Marshall, JR (Dagsboro, DE/Worcester Prep [MD])
MIPs: Campbell McNicol, SO (Mill Neck, NY/St. George's School),
Kat Cohen, SO (Springfield, MA/Williston-Northampton)
Bethany Daller, FR (Exton, PA/Bishop Shanahan) 

MVP: Adam Cranford, SR (Bel Air, MD/John Carroll)
MIP: Kevin Papen, JR (Dover, DE/Caesar Rodney)