Washington College Presents Annual Athletic Awards

Washington College Presents Annual Athletic Awards

CHESTERTOWN, MD - The Washington College Athletics Department held its annual athletic awards ceremony tonight, honoring the top student-athletes for the 2012-13 academic year.  Team Most Valuable Players and Most Improved Players were named, and several special departmental awards were presented as well. A list of the awards follows.

Senior Athletic Award: Given annually to the male student and the female student who, in the opinion of the department, achieved the most in athletics at Washington College.
Bennett Cord, SR, Men's Lacrosse (Gaithersburg, MD/Gaithersburg)
Kristen Wille, SR, Field Hockey (Stevensville, MD/Kent Island)

The Sho'men Club Award: Given annually to the senior male student and the senior female student who, in the opinion of the department, by cooperation, loyalty, sportsmanship, spirit, and industry, contributed the most to the development of athletics at Washington College.
Tyler Cotterell, SR, Baseball (Lincroft, NJ/Middletown South)
Erin Lewns, SR, Field Hockey (Fallston, MD/North Harford)

The Eldridge Eliason Award: The senior male student and female student who, with scholastic standing in the upper half of the class, has accomplished the most in the field of athletics.
Sean Connole, SR, Baseball (Mt. Airy, MD/St. John's Catholic)
Mollie Shipley, SR, Women's Lacrosse (Denville, NJ/Morris Catholic)

The Thomas Reeder Spedden Medal: Presented to a male and female student for academic standing and achievement in athletics.
Parker McIntosh, SR, Men's Rowing (Berlin, MD/Worcester Prep)
Corinne Ziccardi, SR, Women's Lacrosse (Baltimore, MD/Loch Raven)

The Elizabeth "Bo" Blanchard Memorial Sportsmanship Award: The junior female and male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of enthusiasm, dedication, and sportsmanship characteristic of "Bo."
Joel Novick, JR, Men's Tennis (Cape May Court House, NJ/Middle Township)
Carly Eisenbrandt, JR, Women's Lacrosse (Baltimore, MD/Towson)
Ellie Miskiel, JR, Women's Swimming (Gaithersburg, MD/Quince Orchard) 

The Doris T. Bell '50 Award: The senior female with the highest cumulative average who has won a varsity letter during the year.
Jenny Lee, SR, Volleyball (Wilmington, DE/Mount Pleasant)

The Alfred Reddish Award: The senior male with the highest cumulative average who has won a varsity letter during the year.
Tim Marcin, SR, Men's Soccer (Wilmington, DE/Concord)

MVP: Kristen Wille, SR, Midfielder (Stevensville, MD/Kent Island)
MIP: Meredith Andrews, SO, Attack/Midfielder (Catonsville, MD/Seton Keough)

MVP: Gabby Antalffy, SR, Defender (Baltimore, MD/Sparrows Point)
MIP: Katie Bradley, SR, Forward (Havre de Grace, MD/Fallston)

MVP: Tyler Cabot, SR, Goalkeeper (Hightstown, NJ/Peddie School)
MIP: George Gabriel, JR, Forward (Cambridge, England/Hinchingbrooke School)

MVP: Lauren White, JR, Setter (Huntingtown, MD/Huntingtown)
MIP: Andi Folker, SO, Outside Hitter (Centreville, MD/Queen Anne's County)

MVP: Ashley Espinosa, FR, Guard (Reading, PA/Governor Mifflin)
MIP: Carley Kendall, FR, Forward (Harleysville, PA/Souderton Area)

MVP: Stephen Poarch, SO, Guard (Middletown, DE/Sanford School)
MIP: Sean Brooks, SO, Guard (North Wales, PA/North Penn)

MVP: Ellie Miskiel, JR (Gaithersburg, MD/Quince Orchard)
MIP: Alicia Howard, SO (Wilmington, DE/Charter School of Wilmington)

MVP: Greg Lee, SO (Haddonfield, NJ/Haddonfield Memorial)
MIP: Austin Yocum, SO (Lebanon, PA/Cedar Crest)

MVP: Sean Connole, SR, Outfielder/Pitcher (Mt. Airy, MD/St. John's Catholic)
MIP: Joe Kearney-Argow, SR, Pitcher (Mt. Laurel, NJ/Lenape)

MVP: Emily Hubley, SO, Midfielder (West Chester, PA/Bayard Rustin)
MIP: Carley Kendall, FR, Attacker (Harleysville, PA/Souderton Area)

MVP: Bennett Cord, SR, Attackman (Gaithersburg, MD/Gaithersburg)
MIP: Zack Fuller, SR, Defenseman (Millbrook, NY/Canterbury School, CT) 

MVP: Rachel Benders, SR (Cleveland Heights, OH/Beaumont School)
MIP: Ashley Myles, SO (Chester Springs, PA/Owen J. Roberts)

MVP: Jeff Nutting, JR (Catonsville, MD/Mount St. Joseph)
MIP: T. Ian Flinn, FR (Marlton, NJ/Bishop Eustace Prep)

MVP: Ryan Bailey, SO, Skipper (Toms River, NJ/Toms River South)
MIP: Eric Siegel, FR, Skipper (Kilmarnock, VA/Christchurch School)

MVP: to be announced
MIP: Claire Mattox, JR, Shortstop/Second Base (Arlington, VA/Potomac School)

MVP: April Weaver, FR (Perrysburg, OH/Perrysburg)
MIPs: Marielle McIntyre, FR (Bethlehem, PA/Freedom);
Amy Stevens, JR (Street, MD/North Harford) 

MVP: Joel Novick, JR (Cape May Court House, NJ/Middle Township)
MIP: Ryan Holtschneider, SO (Kingsville, MD/Perry Hall)