Leekley Repeats as MARC Coach of the Year

Leekley Repeats as MARC Coach of the Year

Gamble, Harris, Baker Named All-MARC; Six Land on MARC Academic Honor Roll

CHESTERTOWN, MD -- For the second year in a row, Washington College head men's rowing coach John Leekley has been named the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference's Men's Coach of the Year in a vote amongst the conference's coaches. In addition, senior captains Brian Gamble (Gibson Island, MD/Holderness School, NH) and Springer Harris (Huntingtown, MD/Northern) were named to the All-MARC varsity team, freshman Lawrence Baker (Shady Side, MD/Southern) was named to the All-MARC novice team, and six Shoremen earned spots on the MARC Academic Honor Roll.

Leekley guided the Shoremen to their first-ever MARC Championship as Washington took first place in the varsity eight at Saturday's Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference Championships. The Shoremen also took home the overall points trophy. Harris, who is a repeat All-MARC selection, was the coxswain of the Shoremen's winning varsity eight, while Gamble sat in the six seat. Baker was the stroke of the Shoremen's novice eight, which competed in the second varsity eight on Saturday and took home first place.

Harris joined junior Michael Zaborskiy (Novosibirsk City, Russia/American School of Bangkok), sophomore Will Herland (Seattle, WA/Lakeside School), sophomore Sean Harrison (Richmond, VA/Hazleton Area, PA), senior Brandon Riker (Marlboro, VT/Twin Valley), and junior Susanne Vaughn (Bel Air, MD/John Carroll) on the conference's Academic Honor Roll. Harris, Zaborskiy, and Herland were also on the Academic Honor Roll last year.

The All-MARC teams were selected based upon nominations by the student-athletes' respective head coaches. To qualify for the MARC Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must a) have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5, b) be in their second, third, or fourth year of eligibility, and c) must have competed in 75% of the varsity competitions or competed in the MARC Championships.