Leekley Named MARC Coach of the Year, All-Conference Awards Announced

Leekley Named MARC Coach of the Year, All-Conference Awards Announced

Three Shoremen Named All-MARC, Five Named Academic All-MARC

CHESTERTOWN, MD -- Head coach John Leekley has been named the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Men's Coach of the Year. Three members of the Washington College men's rowing team have earned 2013 All-MARC honors and five have landed on the MARC Academic All-Conference Team. 

Leekley was named the conference's Men's Coach of the Year for the fourth time in the past five years after leading the Shoremen to their third MARC Championship in four years. The Shoremen won the varsity eight and second varsity eight at today's MARC Championships and was the highest finishing conference member boat (second overall) in the varsity four.  

Senior captains Parker McIntosh (Berlin, MD/Worcester Prep) and Jeff Nutting (Catonsville, MD/Mount St. Joseph) were named to the All-MARC varsity team, while freshman Ryan Miranda (Farmington, CT/Farmington) was named to the All-MARC novice team. McIntosh sat in the six seat of the Shoremen's first varsity eight and in the two seat of the varsity four at the MARC Championships. Nutting was in the three seat of the Shoremen's second varsity eight, while Miranda was in the five seat of the first varsity eight.

McIntosh also earned a spot on the MARC Academic All-Conference team for the third year in a row. Juniors Anthony Cairo (Port Murray, NJ/Warren Hills) and Chris Moylan (Silver Spring, MD/DeMatha) joined him on the Academic All-Conference team for the second year in a row. First time members of the Academic All-Conference team are sophomore Ben Sproule (Princeton, NJ/Princeton) and junior Max Villa (Great Meadows, NJ/Pope John XXIII).

The All-MARC teams were selected based upon nominations by the student-athletes' respective head coaches. To qualify for the MARC Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must a) have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5, b) be in their second, third, or fourth year of eligibility, and c) must have competed in 75% of the varsity competitions or competed in the MARC Championships.