Shorewomen Win DIII Varsity Four at Knecht Cup

Shorewomen Win DIII Varsity Four at Knecht Cup

CHERRY HILL, N.J. — A victory in the final of the Division III varsity four highlighted a strong showing for the Washington College women's rowing team at the Knecht Cup, held yesterday and today on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Knecht Cup

How It Happened
- The Shorewomen won their heat in the DIII varsity four in 8:04.56 to advance to the grand final. Bowdoin "B" was second in 8:24.13, St. Mary's third in 8:36.77, Franklin & Marshall "B" fourth in 8:47.28, and Stockton fifth in 9:17.59. Their winning time in the grand final was 7:51.88, narrowly beating out Bowdoin "A", which finished in 7:53.80. Carnegie Mellon "A" was third in 8:06.30, Franklin & Marshall fourth in 8:11.80, Bowdoin "B" fifth in 8:26.12, and Marietta sixth in 8:32.82.
- The Shorewomen's first varsity eight competed in the women's varsity eight against primarily Division I opponents. They were fifth in their heat in 7:02.49 to advance to the third-level final. Georgetown won the heat in 6:38.17, North Carolina was second in 6:40.89, Georgetown's lightweights third in 6:46.65, and Boston College fourth in 6:47.12. The first varsity eight then won the third-level final in 7:13.09. Thomas Jefferson was second in 7:15.39, while Holy Cross was third in 7:18.85.
- The Shorewomen's second varsity eight was third in its heat of the Division III varsity eight in 7:24.10 to advance to the final, racing against other schools' first varsity eights. Carnegie Mellon won the heat in 7:24.10, Bryn Mawr was second in 7:30.50, and Cabrini fourth in 8:32.37. In the final, the Shorewomen's second varsity eight then finished ahead of both crews that finished ahead of them in the heat, taking second in 7:43.48. Franklin & Marshall won the final in 7:32.71. St. Mary's was third in 7:47.41, Carnegie Mellon fourth in 7:54.88, Catholic fifth in 7:57.69, and Bryn Mawr sixth in 8:02.50. 

Shorewomen Boat Lineups
First Varsity Eight: Olivia Robb (coxswain), Erika Reynolds (stroke), Kelin McCloskey (seven), Agnes Anderson (six), Gabrielle Francis (five), Karis Marano (four), Emma Hogan (three), Leslie Collins (two), Caroline Jackson (bow)
Second Varsity Eight: Emily Booth (coxswain), Ana Gansz (stroke), Annie Krysztofiak (seven), MB Spargo (six), Tegan McBride (five), Julia Kuchnio (four), Emma Dodsworth (three), Emily Van Driel (two), Kitri Post (bow)
Varsity Four: Diana Schwartz (coxswain), Anderson (stroke), Francis (three), Reynolds (two), McCloskey (bow)

Up Next
4/27 @ Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference Championships (Lewisberry, Pa.)